3 Months today I was forced to quit

3 Months Today  

17th January 2008, my husband and I went for our usual evening walk….Nothing too strenuous just the normal trip around the village, about 2 miles….This night was different…..Only managed around 150yds and the breathing was very strained and laboured.I couldnt get my breath and felt like I was walking up a very steep hill.  I stopped to catch my breath.  We had been outside for about 2mins…This wasn’t the first time this had happened, in fact this was getting pretty typical of what would happen when I tried to walk…I would have a good day where the breathless was minimal and walking was quite comfortable….Then days like this! and they were becoming more and more frequent….Like the cough…The cough was permanent so too was the wheeze…..Did I mention the fact I could no longer laugh without feeling like I was suffocating?

What happened that night on the 17th January?  I dont know and I dont analyze it too much….I made the decsion that was it ….I HAD to Quit and this time REALLY quit…..Because for the 1st time since my diagnosis of COPD in SEPT 2006 I accepted it was real…Not the myriad of excuses for my poor breathing….and there has been a few, the cats, the trees, the dust, my weight……Blah blah blah….Anything but the fact I was smoking 6-8 fags a day with COPD…..

And here I am today 3months later breathing improved and get this………Losing a little weight!!! OMG I quit and lost a little!

So for the record here is todays quit stats

91 days, 4 hours, 10 minutes and 47 seconds smoke free.

912 cigarettes not smoked.

£58.50 and 6 days, 23 hours of your life saved.

Your quit date: 1/18/2008 9:30:00 AM

Today I am proud of me

Leave a Reply

