Love to knit or knit to love …….

2020 ! What a year , Covid dka 3 grandchild so many changes and so much confusion and so much joy. And don’t forget a new job ! Despite a shitty year so many positives have shone through and none the less with the arrival of my 3 delightful grandchildren. Still very young at 7 months , 4 months and 3 months but each with their own unique personalities love them all so much. With their arrival came also my new addiction ……….. knitting ! I have knitted blankets, jumpers, mittens, booties, toys the list is endless and I love every second. Seeing a creation being worn by your grandchild is very pleasing that seems a weak word but pleasing is the word

I have struggled with the emotions I feel with my granddaughter. I feel uneasy and very confused by my emotions. According to the mental health team this is all very normal process for someone who has suffered abuse. Let me tell you nothing feels normal about some of the emotions I have had. But the one thing that has felt very normal is the process of knitting for her and showing my love and care in that way.

When I was a child maybe 7 years old my mum had knitted me a yellow square patterned jumper. Some idiot at school put a handprint in paint on the back . My mum was furious so much so she vowed to never knit me something again and she didn’t and hasn’t . Never thought that was a real issue until today. Being told I will no longer provide you with a form of loving action because of something somebody else has done. This has left me with issues understandably. So today I have started a project for me ! I’m knitting myself a cardigan . It’s in a specialty wool called King Cole Opium and I’m knitting the short sleeved version of

I’m knitting this in the colour red !

Start of project

I will update as I go along very unusual wool to knit with but I’m liking the results so far

The wool knits up pretty fast like a chunky wool. But has thick and thin parts to it

This is my first step towards self care to myself ………

Leave a comment